Conscious Shopping

It is time for Change The World Wednesday (#CTWW). This weeks subject is textiles and how we can share the resources. Have you ever wondered what your clothes and home textiles are made from? Or how they are produced? This might be an eye-opener and an easy access to information about textiles. By browsing the tag #CTWW in social media you will find more read worthy content on the subject. Please also visit Cyndi at Reduce Footprints to learn more about the challenge and textiles.

Conscious Shopping - Textiles | My Green Nook

Textiles are all around us. Photo: Peddhapati ©

As I wrote in a previous post, To consume or not to consume, the first thing to do is to cut down on your purchases. I know many of you love clothes, shoes, handbags and want to look fashionable. I do not blame you but I want to give you some advise. First of all organize your closet and make it viable. Think of what you need (and like) instead of just running to the store and impulsively buy something. It is amazing how many variations you may come up with just by having a good basic wardrobe. This enables you to just add a new top (or what you need) rather than having to buy whole outfits since nothing matches. Think quality and choose things you know will not go out of style in the first place. Like that little black dress almost every woman have in their closet.

Conscious Shopping | My Green Nook

Organized closet – a good start. Photo: Rubbermaid Products ©

While organizing your closet make piles with things to give to charity, sell, swap or refashion. In Sweden the SSNC have a yearly clothes swap day (this year April 18th) which is a great idea. Look for your local clothes swap day or start one. I have a friend who twice a year invites all her acquaintances to a clothes swap with mingle and food. I think it is a very nice initiative. So get some friends together and plan your own party.

I love to by second-hand but sometimes it is hard to find something I really like. Then it is time to get into the labels of sustainable textiles. I know this can be tricky and a bit boring but once you have learned you never forget. And sorry folks there are hustlers on the market – saying they are eco/organic/green but have no criteria for what they mean or lack a certification. To be on the safe side you may want to keep these labels in mind:

Click on the labels to learn more

GOTS

GOTS - Global Organic Textile Standard

Oeko-Tex

OEKO-TEX International Standard - Textile label

EU Ecolabel

EU Ecolabel - European environmental label

Svanen/The Swan | Nordic Ecolabel

Svanen/The Swan. Nordic ecolabel.

SSNC´s Ecolabel | Good Environmental Choice

Good Environmetal Choice - Swedish eco-label

These are the labels commonly seen in Sweden. I know there are other labels – national, regional, type specific – so head out and look for more. Gather information about eco labels and sustainability labels used in your country. Feel free to share your discoveries with me by leaving a comment.


© The photos are licensed by Creative Commons and some rights are reserved. License Attribution 2.0


This post is shared at Healthy, Happy, Green & Natural Party Hop

Creative K Kids
Our Three Peas
17 thoughts on “Conscious Shopping

  1. I can totally relate to this post! For years my idea of a girl’s day out was to “shop til we drop” and buy, buy buy! Over the years I have learned to appreciate the importance of conscious shopping, reuse, recycling, upcycling and now I shop in my closet, donate clothing that I don’t wear anymore to charitable thrift shops or swap them at swap meets. Thank you for sharing this thoughtful and enlightening post with us at the Healthy, Happy, Green and Natural Party Blog Hop! I sincerely appreciate it. I’m pinning and sharing this!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Hi Charlotte,
    Good post. I am visiting your blog and checking it out. Very nice job. I don’t think many people think about the toxins in clothing but they are loaded with them. I look for the GOTS label if I buy organic such as organic sheets for my bed. In the US where I live there is a lot of greenwashing and natural doesn’t have any validity in clothing or food. I have subscribed to your blog and we continue to follow your info. Looking forward to it. Twitted and pinned. Have a healthy happy blessed day!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Thanks Charlotte for this eco-friendly post. I am a first time visitor to your blog and saw it at Live It Up at the Healthy, Happy, Green & Natural Party Blog Hop #56. Living simply and wearing organic, natural materials feels better close to the skin, is better for our personal health, and health of our planet. If you can, check out my blog called, How Can Aquamarine/Aqua Help You? Warm regards, Nancy Andres, Health & Lifestyle Writer, Author of “Colors of Joy: A Woman’s Guide for Self-Discovery, and Bliss,” Blogger at http://obloggernewbie.blogspot.com and http://www.nancyandreswriter.com/colors-of-joy-blog/

    Like

    • Thank you, Nancy! I am glad you stopped by. I agree with you about the choice of materials. I will certainly visit your blogs and read your post about Aquamarine /Aqua. That is actually one of my favorite colors and the gems looks fantastic. Best Regards, Charlotte.

      Like

  4. I make it a point to try and find 100% natural fabrics and ecofriendly options when shopping (and I ONLY buy clothes second-hand!)… great post.. ALSO!! I checked out that link from your last post and I LOVE IT!! I added my blog on there and have been browsing through the other blogs.. what an awesome resource! Thank you so much for sharing!! ❤ – http://www.domesticgeekgirl.com

    Like

    • Thank you Gingi ❤ How awesome that you only buy second-hand and really have thought this through. You should be proud of yourself!
      I am happy to be able to contribute. It is always a pleasure to share good-to-knows. I like to make blogging a sharing and caring thing 🙂 I haven´t forgot the guest blogging we talked about – I just have been busy (last week I was away and totally disconnected – a hard time lol). Keep in touch!

      Like

  5. Honestly, I’ve never really thought about the fabtics or sustainability of a company when it came to clothes, shoes, or accessories shopping. Value and bargain have been my go-to measures. And I mean that both in quantity, quality, and durability, as well as long term use. It’s never been a big thing for me to have a latest trend or anything, because I like what I like and that’s pretty basic.

    my point in all this rambling, is that I have clothes I’ve kept for years and always been good about donating or giving away things I no longer want/need, though the items are still in good condition. Now with a family of my own, I’m ever more conscious of my clothing’s value and durability, but quantity isn’t a thing for me anymore! 🙂

    Like

    • You are way ahead 🙂 It is great that you do not buy so much stuff. My experience tells me that some people do. It works like a treat or a comfort when the mood is low. I guess you like me might like swaps and second-hand. I have bought almost every clothes our baby (to come) will need on second-hand. They look almost new and are of good quality. And what a bargain about 15 USD for all!

      Liked by 1 person

      • Yes, I love second-hand. Thrift stores are really awesome and you can find some really incredible deals in them, too! When I worked before I met Hun, some of my clothing, etc. were from regular stores/new, but some also from thrift shops. I love it! 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

