Plastic pollution

It is time to share my research from this weeks Change The World Challenge (#CTWW). This month the overall theme is Nutrition and this week we talk about oceanic habitats. The problem with contaminated seafood and plastic waste escalates. I guess you have heard the sad news about the plastic pollution in the oceans. If not I suggest you take a look at The Trash Vortex an article written by Greenpeace International.

Growing up in a world of plastic or rather the plastic era the material have become a part of everyday life. Going to the grocery store to purchase food you get home with loads of plastic packaging. Going to any store you get a plastic bag to put your purchases in. What do you do with all the trash? And have you ever wondered where it goes?

Beach. Plastic pollution | My Green Nook

Human impact. Photo: Hillary Daniels

Landfills and litter on dry land have been a discussed problem for a while and many countries have started to solve the issue. But the oceans have been viewed as perfect dumpsites. Ignorance and the thought – what we do not see does not exist – have ruled. Shutting our eyes and turning our backs from one of the worlds most sensitive habitats – the oceans. The system has just set of the alarm about plastic pollution in the oceans. It is scary how little we actually know of the oceanic habitats and the species living in them. For example the blue whale and the mystery around it. This huge animals have not been fully researched and I guess it is not the only species. What is happening in the depths are still undiscovered and left unanswered. So how do we dare to jeopardize these ecosystems?

Sea Otter. Plastic Pollution | My Green Nook

On of the oceans inhabitants, the sea otter. Photo: William Warby

The oceans are vital resources of food and a source of income for many people. But the plastic pollution have gotten into the food chain and contaminated our dinner plates. Beside directly harming wildlife. The problem will not solve itself. Plastic is not decomposable. When thrown away it stays in the ecosystem affecting all the living. Is it not time to act and stop this madness?

To every problem there is solutions. But sometimes we have to act immediately and this is one of those times. So what can we do?

  1. Reduce the usage of plastic. Take your own fabric bag to the store and shop with style. There are many lovely tote bags to choose from. Or why not design your own bag from recycled fabric?
  2. Recycle. Cut down on the waste and let your plastic be reused. If you do not have access to a recycle station ask your municipality. Be the force to interpret recycling in your area.
  3. Question the use of plastic containers ask for an alternative. Put pressure on the market by being an aware customer.
  4. Make changes at home. When buying new storage, utilities, etc skip the plastic and chose stainless steel, bamboo or other ecofriendly and decomposable materials.

Read more in Natural Resources Defense Council’s article Solutions to Plastic Pollution in our Oceans. Have you found any ecofriendly, pretty and useful alternatives to plastic to use at home? Please share your ideas by writing a comment.

 


Shared at:

This post is shared at Healthy, Happy, Green & Natural Party Hop

12 thoughts on “Plastic pollution

  1. You’re absolutely right – plastic pollution is a huge problem everywhere and especially in our oceans. We recently had big storms and the amount of plastic rubbish that was washed up on our (normally quite pristine) beaches was horrible.
    I would add these to help reduce the amount of plastic you buy:
    1) Don’t buy bottled water (it’s hugely expensive and has a truly massive toll on the environment). If you don’t like your tap water, get water filter, they’re readily available.
    2) Ditch the disposables – single-use items are terrible. If you want take outs (although eating wholesome home-cooked food is better for the environment), bring your own containers, and refuse the napkins, sauces etc. Bring your own reusable cup to work and to coffee shops.
    And there are 20 more ways that you can reduce the amount of plastic you “consume” here: http://www.ecofriendlylink.com/blog/begreensaynotoplastic/
    Thanks for a great post!

    Like

    • Thank you for adding to the conversation – your tips are really good. How awful with the turtle trapped in a plastic milk bottle ring and the plastic waste washed up. It makes plastic pollution visible and shows the status of the earth´s oceans (which might be an eye-opener).
      We do not have those plastic holders on bear cans in Sweden any more. I think the reason was to save animal lives. And milk is sold in tetra pack, a special paper package. I always forget the issue with bottled water since we have the luxury to be able to drink the tap water and in my area it tastes great. But people buy mineral water which has become an environmental issue. I always recommend people to do their own with a soda streamer adding natural flavors from fresh fruit. Thank you for stopping by!

      Like

  2. Some great tips. Thanks! Here in the UK we have a site called morsbags.com it’s for “Sociable. Guerrilla. Bagging.” the idea is that you make a canvas tote shopping bag (from recycled/reclaimed material) and give it away so it helps cut down on plastic bags flying about the place (they have a nice pattern for a bag too). Find out about it at the link above or if you want to join my “pod” please do – details here: http://www.worldchanging.me/pollution-and-waste/morsbag-it-away/level-1 – it will help me to make some fabric shopping bags 🙂

    Like

  3. Thank you for this post. My husband and I have switched over to reusable bags for shopping. I always have a fold-up bag in my purse for impulse purchases!

    Also, if you don’t mind I nominated you for the Liebster award, which aims to connect bloggers with each other. Please don’t feel obligated to participate! Here’s the link to the nomination page: https://sarahheiman.wordpress.com/2015/03/17/liebster-awards-nomination-discovering-connecting-with-bloggers/

    Like

    • Fold-up bags are great I also carry one with me. Thank you so much for the nomination I feel very honored. The Liebster award – I think it is sounds like a nice idea. It is always fun to connect with other bloggers. So I will gladly accept the nomination and participate. I hope we stay in touch!

      Like

  4. I am so delighted that you are raising awareness of the devastating impact of plastic pollution on the earth. I am doing everything that I can in my daily life to reduce the use of plastics. Thank you for sharing this important post with us at the Healthy, Happy, Green and Natural Party Blog Hop! I’m pinning and sharing!

    Like

  5. Hi Charlotte! Excellent article and I love your tips! I especially like the tip about asking the market for alternatives to plastic. That works! I also believe that stores won’t make a change unless we tell them that we want them to. If enough people ask, they’ll try to accommodate us!

    I didn’t see your article early enough to include it in today’s CTWW post but I will include it in next week’s post … good information is always good, no matter what day of the week it is! Thanks!

    Like

  6. Great tips. I just read that microfiber cloths are causing plastic problems in the oceans as well. it seems we will never learn. I don’t have a recycling program in my town, which is frustrating, but my son does so I send my recyclables home with them to add to theirs. There is always a solution if we look hard enough.

    Like

    • Thank you Lois! How clever of you to recycle via your son. It is true what you said about solutions just look at how you solved your recycling 🙂 My suggestion is that you write a letter to the decision-makers in your town. They may actually save and even earn money once the recycling program is interpret… I have to read about microfibers – thank you for the tips.

      Like

Leave a Reply

