Family Dinner

Family dinners is not always fancy like the picture below. But make it a social time spent together with the family as often as possible. No telly and no disturbance – just sit together enjoying your meal. Catch up and talk about your day. Let it take time and make it a relaxing pause between chores.

Dinner table. Family Dinner | My Green Nook

Nutrition and food is a hot topic today –  we can view it as a part of sustainability (health, agriculture, food industry, organic food, different diets, GMO etc). The #CTWW-gang is engaged in the discussion. This week Reduce Footprints gave us the challenge Family Cook Day. I must admit that I have not followed the guidelines but I keep to the subject. It is only me and my spouse in my family so far and we always purchase food and cook it together. Food and nutrition is an everyday thing which is vital for us. With the right choices we can live a healthier and more sustainable life. As always the process begins in our minds. And then we work on it step by step. Some of you may already have reached your goals others are on their way or maybe have not given it much thought at all. I believe in balance and knowledge. Balance as in we may treat ourselves once in a while but keep a healthy diet over all. Balanced nutrition and food intake is the key. Knowledge as in knowing the basics about nutrition and be able to make conscious choices.

I often stand among the groceries reading the labels and comparing different alternatives. Often the best thing is to cook your food from scratch – purchasing raw foods. Then you do not get all the additives and E-numbers. And always watch out for high sugar or salt content as well as sweeteners. Often light products contains sweeteners or high content of carbohydrates instead of fat. Next time you go to the grocery store check out the dairy department. Compare different yoghurt – fruit vs natural, low-fat (light) vs natural fat content. And while comparing calculate the price difference between organic and non-organic. Summon a weeks consumption – how much did it differ? Can you afford it? Is there anything else you can live without to choose organic?

Also look at the origin of your groceries where are they produced? Some groceries may have traveled world-wide before getting to your store. This is quite common for processed foods and ready to eat meals. Think about the seasons and buy local, organic vegetables and fruit when possible. But local can be tricky at least in Sweden since much is produced in greenhouses which often are heated with fossil fuels. Therefore organic food from abroad may be a better choice especially during the winter. Next time do the same at a different department. Soon you have got the grip and it will be easier from here on. And while at it a reminder – bring your own bags to the store.

A good eating habit starts in the cradle. Make healthy food a natural part of your family diet. A good standard to work from is the plate model which helps you provide a balanced diet. According to it a meal should consist of 50% fruit/berries and veggies, 25% proteins and 25% carbohydrates. The protein source may be vegetarian even if the picture shows meat. I usually save the fruit/berries and sandwich for a small meal in the afternoon since my blood sugar have a tendency to fall rapid. Instead of milk you can choose water.

Healthy meal. Family Dinner | My Green Nook

Read more about healthy cooking with and for kids as well as their parents:

I have decided to make at least one day a week vegetarian. I wish I could say I am a full-time vegetarian but I never manged to take the step fully. My only excuse is that we would have to make two separate dishes every meal. To justify us a bit we prefer organic meat from well-being, healthy livestock and mostly eat chicken, eggs and fish. We eat a well-balanced diet with lots of organic veggies and fruits. Using the plate model as a guidance.

 


Shared at:

Wine´d Down Wednesday

Pin Me Linky Party

5 thoughts on “Family Dinner

  1. Wonderful post (as always)! I’m thrilled that you’re going to incorporate a vegetarian day into your weekly menu plan. Plant based foods are so much kinder to the environment … and they are healthy. I became vegan after watching a program on all the health benefits. At the time, was a devout carnivore. I honestly didn’t think I could stick with veganism but agreed to try it for 30 days … it didn’t seem like such a long time. Well, I felt so good and discovered so many wonderful dishes that I never went back to eating meat. I think it’s wonderful that you and your husband shop and cook together!

    Like

    • Thank you! I was a bit nervouse to publish this post since I have not excluded meat. Many biologist are vegetarians or vegans for environmental reasons. I always admired them and support their choice. I hope my one vegetarian day will trigger me to go futher. My spouse is in on it too so we have started to collect vegetarian recipes. And there are many tasty meals waiting for us.

      Like

    • Thank you dear Gingi ❤ Your comments are always very appreciated and often put a smile on my face. Eating and cooking together is an easy way to connect and spend time with each other. I remember everyday family dinners from my childhood and it is one thing I want to bring with me to my own family. It is mostly a pleasant memory of course there were times we argued like families do. I hope all is fine with you and your family 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

