Add Nitrogen to The Soil

Add nitrogen to your soil with legumes and other nitrogen fixating plants. This weeks #CTWW challenge: Are you up for adding nutrients to the soil in a delicious way? By growing legumes we get food at the same time as we fertilize the soil with nitrogen via biological nitrogen fixation. I love sugar peas and usually grow a pot with them on my balcony. Last year I had a problem with mildew so this year I have to skip them. I am trying to figure out a replacement since legumes are so delicious and useful. Do you have any suggestions?

Pea Pod. Add Nitrogen to The Soil | My Green Nook

Here are some plants that via symbiosis with bacteria binds nitrogen: alfalfa, beans, clover, lotus, peas, soya beans, Lupinus and Sesbania. The bacterium lives in so-called nodules in the plants root system. From there they fix the nitrogen required by the plant. The soil access the nitrogen when the plant droops and withers. It is crucial to leave the plant in the soil. Mulching it down in pieces. If you tear up the plant the nitrogen will go to waste unless you put it in the compost.

Nitrogen fixation is a part of green manure. When you buy a seed mix you will see that some plants with this function are included. This is a great way to treat your soil in a greener way. Green manure is used to nourish and decompose the soil. In the end you get a healthy and airy soil. I have mentioned green manure in an earlier post Prepare for the green season.

Here is a link to a video showing how to grow green manure.

Make sure you check out the hashtag #CTWW in all social media to get more information about legumes. This challenge is managed by Reduce Footprints you find the link in my sidebar.


This post is shared at Healthy, Happy, Green & Natural Party Hop
Click here to enter your link and view this Linky Tools list…

6 thoughts on “Add Nitrogen to The Soil

  1. Dear Charlotte, Thanks for sharing the tips on natural ways to put nitrogen back into the soil. I saw it at the H, H, G, & N Blog Party Hop 62 and pinned it as well as liked you on FB. I’m going to plant some peas for sure, now that I know they will enrich our soil. If you get a chance, please check out my post at the blog hop. It’s “Fab Ways to Celebrate Earth Day 2015.”
    Warm regards, Nancy Andres, Health & Lifestyle Writer, Author of “Colors of Joy: A Woman’s Guide for Self-Discovery, Balance, and Bliss,” Blogger at http://obloggernewbie.blogspot.com and http://www.nancyandreswriter.com/colors-of-joy-blog/

    Like

  2. I’m not much of a plant person, if I try to grow them, they die. And from all the classes I took on them in college as a biology major, there is something about plants that creep me out. How they can move without having a brain, etc. They creep me out in kind of a cool way I guess you could say. The movie Ruins by Scott Smith is one that really feeds into my thoughts. Great post though, I still enjoy learning about them! If you have time you should stop by and check out my M Post.

    Like

Leave a Reply

